A few years ago, I was animating a group of children and had created a week on the life of the ancient celts… We organised an excursion to an open air museum, l’Archéoscope d’Aubechies, and had a really brilliant day together. A couple showed us how to spin wool and explained their techniques of natural dying. I was intrigued. Later on, another weekend on experimental archaeology, this time in Le Musée du Malgré-Tout in Treignes, made me want to try this out for myself. I got a beginner’s kit with a simple spindle and different types of wool and got to work. Over winter I worked my way through all sorts of wool and have now a little collection of skeins in different natural hues. I didn’t quite know what to do with them and took a pause. Now I got myself another spindle and more wool and just keep going until I know what I’ll use the wool for :-))… I just love producing the thread and enjoy the quiet movement of the spindle…

