Yesterday I was talking to my friend about awareness. In my job and also in my private life, I find it difficult not to go into automatic gear and switch off… but I don’t want to do that. I want to be present, aware of what is happening, with me, in me… She suggested a few things I could do to bring myself back to the present moment. One is to stop for a few seconds every hour, on the hour, and say to myself “I am”. That sounded simple enough and I said I would give it a go! So I did! I started work at 12:00 and missed the 12:00 stop because I had to find out what was happening at work. Normal… At 13:00 I did stop and said “I am” and thought, well, that’s easy… Then I came to myself at 18:00, during my meal break, realising I hadn’t even remembered the hours in between! Of course, I was working, welcoming people, explaining, helping a new colleague, answering the phone, answering emails, doing a million and one things… and not once in between had I even remembered to check the time!
Of course, this is not a guilt thing, I knew I wouldn’t make it and that’s ok, the idea is just to observe oneself, watch what is happening. Nevertheless, I thought I would be a tad more aware than that…
Well, I’ll try again, today, when I’m at home. Will that be easier? In theory, yes, but I have my doubts :-/…

 

